A bath in the woods

A ,,bath” in the woods?

The term “shinrin yoku” comes from Japan and is freely translated as “forestbathing”. Forest bathing is a technique that relaxes your body and calms your mind. It means spending some time in the woods and taking a break from the flood of stimuli of everyday life, far away from noise, bright artificial lighting and the stress of appointments.

Forest bathing is more than just a temporary trend. People all over the wold use the technique, and in Japan doctors will even prescribe it. The positive effect of forest bathing on our minds is quite clear. Just closing your eyes and briefly imagining taking a walk in the freshness of the woods – think of a green roof over your head, small twigs and leaves brushing gently against each other – is a way of achieving a state of deep relaxation. If you are looking for inspiration and a new source of energy, you are sure to find it in the forest.

There are physical benefits too. More and more scientific studies carried out in different countries investigate the influence of forest bathing on health, and the effects are more widespread than you might expect. Forest air is particularly pure – leaves and needles canfilter out tiny particles from the air and the trees also release special “messenger substances”, so that the air in the forest is low in allergens and germs. As well as beneficialeffects on blood pressure and lung capacity, the level of stress hormones is also reduced, and forest bathing is even supposed to result in a better functioning immune system.

One thing is sure: time spent in the woods is good for the eyes. There is a higher level ofoxygen in the air during the day and it’s an ideal opportunity to let your gaze wanderalternately between near and far points. It’s a pleasant contrast to staring at a screen, as so many of us do for hours every day, whether at work or in our spare time. From a wide view of the forest scenery back to a close look at individual leaves, a piece of bark or perhaps a busy little beetle: that’s good eye training!

Forest bathing is fun for young and old, can be tried out alone, as a family or in a group of friends. Books and websites provide lots of information. If you want, you can even attend a seminar. Or you can simply try it out for yourself. Go into the forest, slow down and let your five senses take over. Walk slowly or stand still (or sit or lie still if you prefer) – and concentrate on taking in all your impressions: See. Listen. Smell. Feel. And – but only if youreally know what you’re doing! – even taste the forest.

The flora and fauna of the woods seem to radiate contentment. Your mind is refreshed, and you can focus on the moment. We hope you enjoy your sojourn in the forest – every visit offers you something special and unique.

Waldbaden

Heute schon im Wald gebadet?

Der Begriff „shinrin yoku“ kommt aus Japan und heißt frei übersetzt so viel wie „Waldbaden“. Dabei sprechen wir von einer Methode, die wie Balsam für Körper und Seele wirkt. Sich für eine Weile entspannt im Wald bewegen, sich eine Auszeit von der Reizüberflutung des Alltags gönnen − fernab von Lärm, grellen Lichtern und Terminstress.

Das Waldbad ist längst mehr als ein Trend, wird weltweit gelebt und im Ursprungsland Japan sogar ärztlich verordnet. Die positive Wirkung auf unsere Psyche liegt auf der Hand. Alleine die Augen zu schließen und sich einen Moment lang die Frische eines Spaziergangs vorzustellen −ein Dach aus Grün, das Knacken der Äste und Rauschen der Blätter. Entschleunigung in ihrer reinsten Form. Und wer in dieser Umgebung nach Inspiration und innerer Kraft sucht, wird ebenso mit Sicherheit fündig.

Auch der Körper kommt auf seine Kosten. Immer mehr wissenschaftliche Studien aus verschiedenen Ländern untersuchen den Einfluss des Waldbadens auf die körperliche Gesundheit. Diese Einflüsse sind breiter gefächert, als man zunächst annimmt. Die Waldluft ist besonders rein. Blätter und Nadeln können Schwebepartikel aus der Luft filtern und die Bäume geben spezielle Botenstoffe ab, so dass die Luft im Wald allergen- und keimarm ist. Neben den positiven Auswirkungen auf Blutdruck und Lungenkapazität zeigt sich sogar eine Reduktion von Stresshormonen. Auch eine messbare Stärkung des Immunsystems wird dem Waldbad nachgesagt.

Eines ist außerdem sicher: Der Aufenthalt im Wald ist gut für die Augen. Dort gibt es tagsüber ein Plus an Sauerstoff und die ideale Gelegenheit, den Blick abwechselnd zwischen nah und fern schweifen zu lassen. Ein wohltuender Kontrast zum stundenlangen Starren auf den Bildschirm, sei es auf der Arbeit oder in der Freizeit. Vom weiten Waldblick zurück zum genauen Betrachten einzelner Blätter, einer Baumrinde aus nächster Nähe oder vielleicht eines krabbelnden Käfers: das ist gutes Augen-Training!

Ob in einer Gruppe, mit der Familie oder ganz für sich alleine − ein Waldbad tut jedem gut. Ganze Bücher und unzählige Websites informieren zum Thema; selbst Seminare werden weitverbreitet angeboten. Aber auch ohne Anleitung und Übung kann man es einfach ausprobieren. Gehen Sie in den Wald, entschleunigen Sie und erleben Sie mit allen fünf Sinnen! Bleiben Sie stehen, sitzen oder liegen wo es Ihnen gefällt. Die Hauptsache ist, dass Sie alle Ihre Eindrücke intensiv wahrnehmen: Sehen. Hören. Riechen. Fühlen. Und – aber nur, wer sich wirklich gut auskennt! – sogar schmecken. Die Lebensfreude von Flora und Fauna wirkt ansteckend. Erinnerungen werden geweckt, gleichzeitig wird die Achtsamkeit für das Hier und Jetzt erhöht.

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß dabei, denn: Jeder Waldbesuch ist etwas Besonderes und einzigartig.