A sustainable tradition

At Hoffmann Natural Eyewear we’re totally in tune with the concept of sustainability −and not just since Greta Thunberg got people moving with the “Fridays for Future” demos and forced the world to rethink its stand on the environment. Time’s getting short for our planet! But what about us as a company?

Hoffmann has been going from strength to strength for more than four decades thanks to its sustainable production methods. For us, today’s way of thinking is not new: this was already a fundamental principle when the company was founded in 1978, and now, more than 40 years later, it is still an essential part of our company concept. That is why our philosophy at Hoffmann Natural Eyewear is to keep a watchful eye on nature and its resources and, whenever necessary, to stand up and protect them.

We love and live the creation of environmentally-friendly, handmade, natural material frames. The most important material for our eyewear creations is natural horn, usually the horn of the Asian water buffalo. The horn is sustainably sourced, in harmony with nature. In this way the horn becomes a valuable raw material instead of being lost as a “leftover product”. In addition to natural horn, wood is also used for certain models –this is a renewable resource and a natural basis for spectacle frames. Our handcrafting methods are also a contributing factor for a positive environmental balance. The concept of sustainability also goes beyond the glasses themselves. For example, our production roomsare both heated and cooled with a geothermal system − an extremely environmentally- friendly solution. Another, completely different step is our concept for replacing presents for customers with a donation to a local charity. Near our premises there is a Wild Bird Sanctuary, where sick or injured birds, bats and even hedgehogs can be brought to be treated and tended before they are returned to the wild. This is a great project and we are proud to support it! In the 21st century, everyone is talking about sustainability, and the employees of Hoffmann Natural Eyewear also strive to use nature’s valuable treasures as sparingly as possible in their everyday work. Whether they’re moving towards “paperless offices” with the help of new technologies or saving CO2 emissions by carpooling − everysmall step is valuable and brings us all closer to our goal.

Nachhaltig aus Tradition

Hoffmann Natural Eyewear steht voll hinter dem Nachhaltigkeitsgedanken − und das nicht nur seit Greta Thunberg die Menschen mit den „Fridays for Future“-Demos in Bewegung gebracht und dabei die Welt zum Umdenken zwingt. Es ist höchste Eisenbahn für unsere Welt! Aber was ist mit uns?

Bei Hoffmann entwickeln wir uns dank unserer nachhaltigen Fertigungsweise seit über vier Dekaden erfolgreich weiter. Die Natur und ihre Ressourcen fortwährend im Auge zu behalten und sich für ihren Schutz stark zu machen, ist in unserer Philosophie fest verankert. Diese Denkweise ist bei Hoffmann Natural Eyewear nicht neu: das Prinzip war bereits 1978 bei der Unternehmensgründung essentiell und ist heute, über 40 Jahre später, immer noch ein wesentlicher Teil des Firmenkonzepts.

Wie wir Nachhaltigkeit umsetzen

Wir leben und lieben die Erschaffung umweltfreundlicher, handgefertigter Brillen aus Naturmaterialien. Der wichtigste Werkstoff für unsere Eyewear-Kreationen ist Naturhorn, meist das Horn des asiatischen Wasserbüffels. Dieses wird ressourcenschonend, im Einklang mit der Natur gewonnen. So wird das Horn, statt als „Rest-Produkt“ verloren zu gehen, zum wertvollen Rohmaterial. Neben diesem Werkstoff wird auch Holz für bestimmte Modelle verwendet − ein nachwachsender Rohstoff und eine natürliche Basis für Brillenfassungen. Auch die Fertigung von Hand trägt zur positiven Umweltbilanz bei. Der Nachhaltigkeitsgedanke geht auch über die Brille selbst hinaus. Zum Beispiel werden unsere Produktionsräume mit einem Erd-Wärme-System sowohl geheizt als auch gekühlt. Ein ganz anderer Ansatz ist unser Konzept, in der Weihnachtszeit auf Firmengeschenke zu verzichten und stattdessen einen Geldbetrag für einen guten Zweck zu spenden. Ganz in unserer Nähe ist eine Wildvogel-Pflegestation, die kranke oder verletzte Vögel, Fledermäuse und sogar Igel aufnimmt, aufpäppelt und wieder in die Freiheit entlässt. Ein tolle Sache, die wir gerne unterstützen! Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit ist im 21. Jahrhundert in aller Munde und auch die Mitarbeiter von Hoffmann Natural Eyewear sind bestrebt, in ihrem Arbeitsalltag möglichst sparsam mit den wertvollen Schätzen der Naturumzugehen. Ob sie mit Hilfe neuer Technologien Richtung „papierloses Büro“ schreiten oder durch das Bilden einer Fahrgemeinschaft CO2-Emmissionen einsparen − jeder noch so kleine Schritt ist wertvoll und bringt uns alle näher ans Ziel.